Finland starts to close its borders on 19 March 2020

Situation on 18 March 2020 at 8 am

On 16 March 2020, the Government decided on additional measures to address the coronavirus outbreak in Finland. The aim of the measures is to protect the population and to safeguard the functioning of society and the economy. The measures will be in force until 13 April 2020. The Government has announced, in cooperation with the President of the Republic, that there is a state of emergency in the country as a result of the coronavirus outbreak.

The movement of people may be restricted in order to prevent a serious danger to life and health.

For the sake of public health and health security, preparations will be launched for the closure of Finland’s borders without delay in accordance with international obligations. Finland has announced that starting 19 March 2020 it will close its borders and suspend travel to Finland until 13 April 2020. This applies to everyone except Finnish citizens and foreigners with permanent residence in Finland. Indispensable work-related traveling will still be possible and continues within EU borders.

Finns and permanent residents in Finland returning from abroad will be placed in quarantine-like conditions for two weeks.

Finnish citizens and persons residing in Finland must not travel abroad. Finnish tourists abroad are advised to return to Finland immediately. Necessary travel for work and to access other necessary services will be permitted across the northern and western borders. Freight and goods traffic will continue as usual.

Follow the local news and local authorities’ advice to get the most recent information.

Read more about Finnish Government news »